Dorchester Middle School

Local Governing Body (LGB)

Dorchester Middle School is part of the Wessex Multi Academy Trust (WMAT), a single entity established to undertake a strategic collaboration to improve and maintain high educational standards across a number of schools.  DMS has its own Local Governing Body (LGB) which is a committee of the WMAT Board of Directors.

Our Local Governing Body consists of a group of enthusiastic and committed people who volunteer to work in partnership with the school leaders to shape the future of the school, to decide the key issues that will help staff to raise standards and to determine how the school will best spend its money.  The LGB also assigns Link Governors to work across the key areas of the school to achieve these aims.  We regularly review the skills set, training needs and experience of the LGB to ensure effective governance of the school. 

Please address any Governor-related correspondence to the Chair of Governors, Mr Mike Glanville, and send to the school office clearly marked for his attention or email the Clerk of Governors, Mr Nigel Ffitch at:  DMS Clerk to Local Governing Body

The dates in brackets refer to the date of appointment and term of office. 

Members of the DMS  Local Governing Body are: 

Head of School

Mr Jon Webb (03/06/24)


Parent Governors 

Mr Robert Trickey (17/06/23 - 17/06/27)


Appointed Governors

Mr Mike Glanville (27/03/24) Chair

Mr Ben Martin (29/03/23 - 28/03/27)  Vice Chair

Mr Stuart Legg (01/01/22 - 31/12/26)

Miss Zoe Jarvis (09/11/22 - 09/11/26)

Mr David Shaw (01/02/23 - 01/02/27)

Ms Kathy O'Bourne (29/03/23 - 29/03/27)


Staff Governor 

Miss Megan Ashley (27/03/24 - 27/03/2028)


Former members of the DMS SAT

Mrs Jan Dunne (09/05/17 - 21/07/22 term extended as Chair - associated governor until dissolution of SAT - 07/03/23)

Mrs Pat Bailey (18/02/18 - 18/02/22 - term of office extended until dissolution of SAT - 07/03/23)

Mr John Adams  (19/03/19 - until dissolution of SAT - 07/03/23)

Mr Peter Knell (18/03/19 - 18/03/23 - resigned)

Mrs Delphine Didier (03/01/20 - 09/09/21 - resigned)

Mrs Debbie Scammell (01/12/20 - 08/12/21 - resigned)

Mr Robert Hattersley (04/01/22 - 13/03/22 resigned)

Ms Lisa Upchurch (27/11/17 - 27/11/21, term extended - 23/03/22 resigned)

Mr Matt Weiss (11/05/22 - 06/09/23 resigned)

Miss Kelly Shutts (01/12/20 - 19/09/23 resigned)

Ms Caroline Pluck, HT (12/06/20) - Retired 30/04/24


Wessex MAT - Governance page

Wessex MAT - Governance Page

Meeting notes from LGB Sept 2023 - July 2024

Meeting notes from the LGB meetings will be available, by request, from the MAT Clerk:

There maybe parts that are redacted due to sensitivity.

Governors Attendance to meetings - September 2023 to July 2024

LGB - Governors Attendance - Sept 2023 - July 2024 - updated June 24

Governors attendance to meetings - September 2022 to July 2023

LGB - Governors Attendance - Sept 2022 to July 2023.pdf

Quick Links

Quick Links