School Logo

Dorchester Middle School

Learn today for life tomorrow

Get in touch


Please address any correspondence, for governors, to the Chair of Governors, Mrs Jan Dunne and send to the school office clearly marked for her attention or email to

The governing body has a strong focus on three core strategic functions:

  1. Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  2. Holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff; and
  3. Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.


The primary consideration in the appointment and election of new governors are the skills and experience that the governing body needs to be effective.


The constitution of the governing body is as follows:

(The dates in brackets are the dates of appointment and terms of office.  Our Governors are elected by FGB or Parent Body as applicable.)



Ms Caroline Pluck (12/06/20)

(Accounting Officer)


5 x Parent Governors

Ms Lisa Upchurch (27/11/17 - 27/11/21)

Mr Stuart Legg (27/11/17 - 27/11/21)

Mr Peter Knell (18/03/19 - 18/03/23)

Mrs Debbie Scammell (01/12/20 - 01/12/24)

Mrs Delphine Didider (03/01/24 - 09/09/21)

Vacancy x 1


5 x Appointed Governors

Mrs Jan Dunne (09/05/17 - 09/05/21)

Mr John Adams (11/05/19 - 11/05/23)

Mrs Pat Bailey (18/02/18 - 18/02/22)

Mr Ben Martin (18/03/19 - 18/03/23)

Vacancy x1


1 x Staff Governor

Miss Kelly Shutts (01/12/20 - 01/12/24)


Associate Governors*

*Associate Governors are appointed for their expertise in a particular subject.

They are appointed on an annual basis to the committee listed but with no automatic voting rights.


To enable the governing body to discharge its responsibilities effectively, it has appointed the following committees to focus on specific areas of its responsibility:


Curriculum Committee:

Mr John Adams (Chair)

Ms Caroline Pluck

Mrs Jan Dunne

Mr Ben Martin (Vice Chair)

Mrs Debbie Scammell


Finance Committee 

Mrs Pat Bailey (Chair)

Mrs Jan Dunne

Ms Caroline Pluck

Ms Lisa Upchurch (Vice Chair)

Mr Peter Knell


People Committee:

Mrs Jan Dunne (Chair)

Mrs Pat Bailey (Vice Chair)

Ms Caroline Pluck

Mr Stuart Legg


Environment Committee:

Mr Stuart Legg (Chair)

Mr Peter Knell (Vice Chair)

Mrs Jan Dunne

Ms Caroline Pluck

Mrs Debbie Shutts

Miss Kelly Shutts


Disciplinary Committee:

Will comprise of a minimum of 3 Governors which will be appointed by the Chair and/or Vice Chair of FGB as and when appropriate.


In addition, the Governing Body have also assigned governors to specific lead governor roles to reflect key elements of its work. The appointments are as follows:




John Adams



Data Protection

Lisa Upchurch


Pat Bailey

Health and Safety

Stuart Legg 


Pat Bailey


Jan Dunne


Peter Knell

Mental Health and Wellbeing

Mrs Dunne


Lisa Upchurch

Pupil Voice


PSCHEEBen Martin


Jan Dunne


Debbie Scammell


Ben Martin


Jan Dunne

Pupil Premium

Mr J Adams/Mr B Martin


Stuart Legg


John Adams