School Logo

Dorchester Middle School

Learn today for life tomorrow

Get in touch

DMS - Local Governing Body (LGB)

Dorchester Middle School is part of the Wessex Multi Academy Trust (WMAT), a single entity established to undertake a strategic collaboration to improve and maintain high educational standards across a number of schools.  DMS has its own Local Governing Body (LGB) which is a committee of the WMAT Board of Directors.


Our Local Governing Body consists of a group of enthusiastic and committed people who volunteer to work in partnership with the school leaders to shape the future of the school, to decide the key issues that will help staff to raise standards and to determine how the school will best spend its money.  The LGB also assigns Link Governors to work across the key areas of the school to achieve these aims.  We regularly review the skills set, training needs and experience of the LGB to ensure effective governance of the school. 


Please address any Governor-related correspondence to the Chair of Governors, Mr Stuart Legg, and send to the school office clearly marked for his attention or email to:


Members of the DMS  Local Governing Body are:

(The dates in brackets refer to the date of appointment and term of office)



Ms Caroline Pluck (12/06/20)


Parent Governors 

Mr Peter Knell (18/03/19 - 18/03/23)

Mr Matt Weiss (11/05/22 - 11/05/26)


Appointed Governors

Mr Stuart Legg (27/11/17 - term extended) Chair (21/07/22 - 21/07/26)

Mr Ben Martin (19/03/19 - 19/03/23) Vice Chair (21/07/22 - 21/07/26)

Miss Zoe Jarvis (09/11/22 - 09/11/26)


Staff Governor 

Miss Kelly Shutts (01/12/20 - 01/12/24)


Associate Governors

Mrs Jan Dunne (09/05/17 - term extended to 21/07/22 - 21/07/22 term ended as Chair)

Mrs Pat Bailey (18/02/18 - 18/02/22 - term of office extended until dissolution of SAT)


*Associate Governors are appointed for their expertise in a particular subject. 

They are appointed to the LGB on an annual basis but with no automatic voting rights.


Former members of the DMS SAT

Mr John Adams  (19/03/19 - until dissolution of SAT)

Mrs Delphine Didier (03/01/20 - 09/09/21 - resigned)

Mrs Debbie Scammell (01/12/20 - 08/12/21 - resigned)

Mr Robert Hattersley (04/01/22 - 13/03/22 resigned)

Ms Lisa Upchurch (27/11/17 - 27/11/21, term extended - 23/03/22 resigned)

LGB Minutes - 12.07.22

LGB Minutes - 14.06.22

LGB Minutes - 17.05.22

LGB Minutes - 15.03.22

LGB minutes - 08.02.22

Deed of Novation and Variation of the Funding Agreement for Dorchester Middle School

Governors Attendance to meetings up to December 2021