Home Page


Catchment Area

Catchment Area 1


Please note that all aspects of Dorchester Middle School's admissions arrangements are managed by Dorset County Council on our behalf. Please see Dorsetforyou for details and contact the School Admissions Team if you have any questions.


Tel. 01305 221060 or email: 


SEN admission applications (for pupils who have a EHCP/Statement), including those pupils transferring from Year 4 to 5 or Year 8 to 9, have to be made via the Local Authority SEN admissions department.  All SEN admissions are made via consultation with the Local Authority.


The school will normally admit children living within its catchment area and tries to meet requests from out of catchment. The school can admit 150 pupils in each year group.


Details of the over-subscription criteria can be found in Section 2 of the admissions policy


Catchment Area - The Western side of the town of Dorchester - the dividing line will be Weymouth Road, Weymouth Avenue, South Street, North Square and Orchard Terrace.


The parishes of Cerne Abbas, Nether Cerne, Up Cerne, Godmanstone, Minterne Magna (except Middlemarsh) Whitcombe, Winterborne Herringston, Winterborne Monkton, Winterborne St Martin (Martinstown), Winterbourne Steepleton, Winterbourne Abbas and Compton Valence.


However, the Governors of the school, in consultation with the local education authority will be responsible for controlling admissions.


Should it not be possible for you to gain a place for your child you may use the right to appeal. Details may be obtained from Strategic Services, the Education Directorate, Dorset County Council, County Hall, Dorchester. You can also apply for a school place on line at Dorsetforyou.


In the event of the school being over-subscribed the following criteria would be used when deciding who should have priority of admission:


  1. Children living in the catchment area.
  2. Children who have a brother or sister attending the school at the time of admission.
  3. Medical reasons